Skip to content

[GW2] Micro your Payo!

March 27, 2012

“We’re in some pretty deep shit now!”

So, last week Mike O’Brien of ArenaNet blogged about microtransactions in Guild Wars 2.  He presents ArenaNet’s philosophies and goals for microtransactions and declares, “But it’s never OK for players to buy a game and not be able to enjoy what they paid for without additional purchases, and it’s never OK for players who spend money to have an unfair advantage over players who spend time.”  However, one thing they see as acceptable is ” time-saving convenience items.”

Well, it looks like time-saving convenience items include temporary boosts to XP, crafting, karma, magic find and more.  I’m tending to agree with a post I read by Keen, where I guess these bonuses are not individually horrendous, but the sum of them all doesn’t sit well with me.  And it puts the game on a slippery slope where more questionable items go up for sale, potentially crossing the line between “time-saving convenience” to “pay-to-win”.  I mean, perhaps the item hunt (discounting the developers intentions) is what’s most important in the game for you.  Well, the boosts to magic find is you paying to win at that meta game!

I wish they would limit the store to cosmetic and account services, including character slots, pets, dyes, clothes, etc.  I’m sure they will make good money doing that alone.  I know I will definitely be purchasing a few pets over the course of playing the game.  Paying £50 for the standard digital edition of the game plus feeling like you have to buy a plethora of Mystic Keys to experience the full game just leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

From → Guild Wars 2

2 Comments
  1. gankatron permalink

    Is this an appropriate correction?

    “I’m tending to agree with a post I read by Keen, where I guess these bonuses are NOT horrendous…”

    • spacecowboy2071 permalink

      Oh, nice catch thanks! Yah, going to have to improve my writing skills if I’m going to blog more! 😉

Leave a Reply

